Starting the Day with Intension (and Love!)

Hello friends!

I know it’s been awhile, but it’s good to be back!

juicejournal

 

Today I wanted to share a few things that I have been adding to my wellness routine. My favorite thing lately has been adding in a morning routine that I follow/try to follow at least Monday-Friday. This routine is just incorporating a few things that I love that help me to ground myself in the day, and set intensions so I can better complete the things I need to complete that day. If mornings aren’t your thing, no worries! You can always include an evening/afternoon/break routine in your day if that works better for you! I just find if I start my day with gratitude, movement, and intension it sets me up to feel a whole lot better throughout the whole day. So, maybe just give it a shot for a week or two and see how you feel.

waterwithlemon

To start, I like to cleanse my body by drinking water first thing. Just drinking a glass of water within the first 30 minutes of waking up can be awesome. I love to warm up some water on the stove, and then add some lemon to it to fire up my digestive system. It’s just a simple way to re-hydrate after the night, and awaken your body in a pleasant way.

 

Next, I love to get my body moving! This movement can be anything you want it to be. It can be some light stretching right when you get out of bed, yoga, it can be a walk or run around your neighborhood, it can be going to the gym first thing, or it can be just doing some crunches and push-ups before getting in the shower. Just starting with whatever movement feels best for you. This really helps me to fully wake up every part of my body, and feel more energized and productive throughout my day.

After I move, I love to nourish my body with good fuel. Since I like to prep my food ahead of time, I am a big fan of overnight oats or chia seed pudding. That way I can just have it with me and be able to dive right in for some quick, but nourishing fuel. If you have more time, making a smoothie is also super awesome! Check out this blueberry smoothie or this spirulina smoothie by Deliciously Ella if you want some inspiration (P.S. check out her instagram if you want some real great food inspiration, it’s fabulous!).

fitness

Sometimes, I also like to dry brush before jumping in the shower. Dry brushing is just taking a dry brush and brushing over your body in a circular motion, starting from your legs and moving upwards, and then extending from your chest outward. Dry brushing can help with circulation, as well as make your skin glow by removing dead skin cells from your body. You can read more about dry brushing here. My only problem with dry brushing is that it tends to kind of dry out my skin (and my skin is already pretty dry), so to counter that I like to moisturize Almond or Sesame oil after the shower. I usually just take some oil in my hand, and apply it to make skin right after I turn off my shower (while the water is off but I’m still standing there). Just be careful if you use a lot, as it may be slippery. This might not be for everyone, but I find it incredibly nourishing to my skin.

I also love to start off my days with intension, and meditation. If you are new to meditation, I HIGHLY suggest checking out Heather Waxman’s Soul Sessions (you can check out a free one here).

morningdoodle1

Sometimes I like to set intensions for the day ahead by doodling and making a “how I want to feel” list. I list how I want to feel during the day ahead, and then I write out some of the things I might incorporate during my day so that I can feel that way. Action items that can empower me to make those feelings happen. I was inspired to start doing this through Katie Dalebout from The Wellness Wonderland, and you can read more about it in her post here.

And here’s an example of my morning inspiration doodles:

morningdoodle2

If you want more ideas on what to incorporate into your morning routine you can check out this post from The Wellness Wonderland.

And finally, here’s a great smoothie bowl recipe to start your day :)

smoothiebowl

Spirulina Cherry Cinnamon Smoothie Bowl

1 frozen banana

1 cup almond/coconut/milk of choice or water

1/2 cup frozen cherries

1 handful spinach, kale, or greens of choice

1 tsp spirulina (optional)

1/2-1 tsp cinnamon

1/2-2 Tbs sunflower seed butter (or nut butter of choice), optional

optional toppings:

1 Tbs raw sunflower seeds

1-2 Tbs hemp seeds

Add all ingredients to a blender, blend and enjoy :)

What are your favorite ways to start the day?

One thought on “Starting the Day with Intension (and Love!)

What do you think?

