Raw cacao and Rainy Days

Happy Friday!

I hope this rainy Friday is greeting you with lots of love! Last night it was so beautiful to have the sound of rainfall guide my sleep. After this drought in California, I feel so grateful and excited to have the rain cleanse and nourish our grounds.

In honor of the weekend, I wanted to share two of my favorite sweet treats: banana soft serve and hot chocolate! Both of which incorporate probably my most favorite super food, raw cacao. I have always loved dark chocolate, but I find raw cacao to be even more amazing. This incredible super food gives food a richer and more decadent taste than any other form of chocolate, which means you can satisfy a chocolate craving in smaller portions, while giving your body a dose of magnesium and antioxidants. If you want to learn more about the benefits of raw cacao, you can check out some things David Wolfe has to say by clicking here. If you’re new to the whole raw cacao thing, I recommend buying raw cacao POWDER. I found it took me a little longer to be able to appreciate raw cacao nibs, but they are super great additions to smoothies and desserts if you’re looking for a bit of a crunch.

So, without further ado, here they are:

Raw Cacao hot chocolate (or, hot cacao?)

IMG_20140207_104418

Serves 1

1-2 TBS Raw Cacao POWDER (start with 1 and you can move up from there)

1-2 tsp honey (or maple syrup, or raw sugar; for sugar free you can use a pinch or two of stevia)

1/2-1 tsp cinnamon (can omit if you’re not a fan. Again, start with just a shake and move up from there)

1 cup almond/coconut/non-dairy milk of choice, or water

You’re favorite feel good mug

Directions: (microwave version) I like to start by adding my almond milk, and heating that on it’s own first for 1 minute and 15 seconds. Then I add the raw cacao, honey, and cinnamon and mix. Then I heat all of it together for another 30-45 seconds. I find this makes the hot chocolate a little more creamy. You can also use water!

If you are a fan of superfoods, and looking for something with a little more boost of energy in the morning, try adding 1/2 tsp of Maca Powder

Enjoy!!!

Next up:

Raw Cacao Peanut Butter Banana Soft-Serve

IMG_20140131_202647

Ingredients:

1-2 frozen bananas ( I prefer two, to make things more creamy)

1-2 Tbs Raw Cacao POWDER

1-2 Tbs Peanut Butter (or nut butter of choice)

1-2 Tbs almond/coconut/non-dairy milk of choice

1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

To Make: Peel and dice your bananas and place in a zip-lock bag in the freezer for a few hours, or over night. Once bananas are frozen, add banana, peanut butter, and cinnamon to your blender (should be a high powered one for best results). Blend until smooth, adding almond milk when needed to help keep things moving!

Enjoy!

Link love that caught my interest this week:

This post from Culinary Karma about changing your language to YES rather than NO, super powerful!

This interview with Tara Stiles on The Wellness Wonderland Radio

This green smoothie from Deliciously Ella

I am also LOVING her advice on preparing healthy lunches for the week!

What’s sparking your interest lately???

Have a beautiful weekend!

What do you think?

