packing healthy lunches

Hey there!

Happy Sunday! I hope your weekend has been saturated with love and peace. I love the calm energy of Sundays, and always like to use this day to prepare myself for the week ahead. Part of this prep usually includes listening or watching something that inspires me, journaling my intensions for the week ahead, and prepping healthy food for the week.

I have found making healthy foods easily available is critical for how well I eat through the week. Weeks tend to get busy, so if I don’t have healthy food readily available, I tend to buy quick, not so healthy meals on the go. Here’s my favorite way to prep lunches for the week:

Cook up some grains! Maybe quinoa, brown rice, or try out millet. Generally you cook grains by adding double the amount of water, bring water and grains to a boil, then cover and simmer for 30 minutes or so. Once  cooked, I’ve been loving adding a Tbs of tahini and apple cider vinegar to make the grains kind of creamy.

Roast up some root veggies. Cut up sweet potatoes, carrots, butternut squash, or any other of your favorite veggies. Put all these on a baking dish/ cookie sheet and sprinkle your favorite spices on top. I love basil and cinnamon and cumin. Then bake until the veggies are tender.

Then make this!

Mason Jar Lunch

IMAG0715

1/4-1/2 cup grains of choice

1/4-1/2 cup legumes (beans, peas, lentils)

1/2 cup or more roasted veggies/ veggies of choice

Top with greens of choice

Bring or top with lemon, vinegar, or oil-free dressing of choice

To put it together: put grains on the bottom of jar, then add legumes for the next layer.  Layer on your veggies of choice. Next top with greens until jar is full. If I use kale, sometimes I just squeeze a lemon or lime right in top, because kale tends to hold up well and not get all soggy. Otherwise, just bring your dressing of choice in a separate container, and pour it into the jar before you’re ready to dig in! Enjoy!

What are your healthy go-to lunches?

What do you think?

